Welcome To Calabrian Genealogy

Site Map

Calabrian Genealogy Banner

Calabria is located in the southern-most tip of Italy. It's landscapes vary from mountainous rocky terrain, rich, lush farm land to sunny beaches. I began my research into my Calabrian roots many years ago to try to discover my family origins. I will share here what I have learned in the hopes that it can help you too. This site will highlight the places in Calabria, it's history and culture and records. This site began in 2007 and I am currently changing, rewriting and adding new pages to this site.

About Calabria

A brief overview

Calabria consists of 5 provinces; Cosenza, Catanzaro, Crotone, Vibo Valentia and Reggio Calabria. Prior to 1991 there were only 3 provinces. In 1991 Catanzaro Province was split into 3 provinces and Vibo Valentia and Crotone Provinces were born. Calabria is home to several different terrains and landscapes. The east and west is bordered by the Ionian and Tyrhenian seas. In between are rugged mountains and fertile valleys and villages that offer a different culture and language (dialect) than the rest of Italy. There is a national park located in the Sila Mountains in Cosenza Province. There are numerous mountains scattered throughout the region namely the Sila, Pollino and Aspromonte and of course, beautiful seaside villages. This region has been influenced by the Greeks, the Romans, Albanians, Austrians, Germans, Spanish, the Byzantines, the Normans and The Ottoman Empire. The Calabrian region has always been more isolated from the rest of the regions of Italy, however today it is not as isolated. In the past it was separated by dialects, traditions and it's rugged terrain and poverty. It was very different than the rest of Italy. Much of the culture and traditions in Calabria are unique to the region. To learn more go here.

To view my other websites go here.

Meaning of Names

Home | Records | Calabria | Family | History